# 2020 Faculty Research Awards Day

Welcome & Opening Remarks

Chief Executive Officier, Wake Forest Baptist Health System Dean, Wake Forest School of Medicine Chief Academic Officer, Atrium Health

Gregory L. Burke, MD, MS

Chief Science Officer and Senior Associate Dean of Research Professor, Clinical and Translational Science Institute Professor, Public Health Sciences

# Early Career Investigator in Basic/Translational Sciences

Ashley Weaver, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering

Kenneth T. Kishida, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Physiology & Pharmacology

# Early Career Investigator in Clinical/Population Sciences

Elizabeth Jensen, MPH, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Epidemiology & Prevention

Tina Brinkley, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Section on Gerontology & Geriatric Medicine

# Mid-Career Investigator in Basic/Translational Sciences

Gagan Deep, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Cancer Biology

Leah Solberg Woods, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Medicine

# Mid-Career Investigator in Clinical/Population Sciences

Nicholas M. Pajewski, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Biostatistics & Data Science

John M. Salsman, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Social Sciences & Health Policy

#### **Established Investigator in Basic/Translational Sciences**

J. Mark Cline, DVM, PhD

Professor, Department of Pathology - Comparative Medicine

#### **Established Investigator in Clinical/Population Sciences**

Carl D. Langefeld, PhD

Professor, Department of Biostatistics & Data Science

Glenn Lesser, MD

Professor, Department of Hematology & Oncology

# **Academic Learning Health System (aLHS)**

Ajay Dharod, MD, FACP

Assistant Professor, Department of Internal Medicine

#### **Clinician Investigator**

Wendy C. Moore, MD

Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Section on Pulmomary, Critical Care, Allergy, and Immunologic Diseases

### **Entrepreneurship Award**

Pamela W. Duncan, PT, PHD

Professor, Department of Neurology

#### **Mentoring Award**

John S. Parks, PhD

Professor, Department of Molecular Medicine

#### Barbara Nicklas, PhD

Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Section on Gerontology & Geriatric Medicine

#### **New Team Science**

Mobile Patient Technology for Health (mPATH)

Chemotherapy-induced Peripheral Neuropathy Working Group

#### **Established Team Science**

Wake Forest Community Research Partnership

Diabetes Heart Study Team

# **Special Achievement**

John W. Sanders, MD, MPHTM

Professor and Section Chief, Department of Internal Medicine, Section on Infectious Diseases

#### Robin Hurley, MD, FANPA

Professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Radiology

# Wake Forest Academy Award

Christopher Ohl, MD

Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Section on

Infectious Diseases



The Early Career Investigator Award is presented to an assistant professor who has been on the WFSM faculty for at least three years; has made a significant contribution to the field; has originality and independence of thought; has outside recognition; and has the potential for an outstanding career as a scientist.

The Mid-Career Investigator Award honors an associate professor level, who has been at WFSM for at least three years; has significant contribution(s) to the field; has original work; has value of the work in shaping and furthering the field; has productivity; has national and international recognition; contributes to the research environment of WFSM; and contributes as a mentor and colleague.

The Established Investigator Award honors an internationally recognized professor who has been employed at WFSM for at least three years; has significant contributions to the field; has original work; has value of the work in shaping and furthering the field; has productivity; contributes to the research environment at WFSM; contributes as a mentor and colleague; and has national and international recognition.

The Academic Learning Health System (aLHS) Award is presented to an investigator contributing to the aLHS and actively impacting health through one or more of the following: 1) Biomedical Informatics; 2) Improvement or Implementation Science; 3) System Science and Organizational Change Management; 4) Stakeholder Engagement, Leadership, and Research Management; 5) Ethics of Health System Research; and/or 6) Health Systems Research Methods. Faculty of all ranks, who have been on faculty at WFSM for a minimum of three years are eligible for nomination.

The Clinician Investigator Award honors the research accomplishments of a faculty member whose primary responsibilities are clinical and who has been on the WFSM faculty at the assistant professor level or higher for at least 3 years. Eligible faculty must have more than 50% effort devoted to clinical duties; faculty of all ranks and degrees are eligible (e.g., MD, PhD, ScD, DVM, DDS, PA or equivalent doctoral-level terminal degree).

The Entrepreneurship Award honors the research accomplishments of a faculty member who contributes significantly to innovation and entrepreneurship at WFSM. Faculty of all ranks, who have been on faculty at WFSM for a minimum of three years are eligible for nomination.

The Mentoring Award honors an associate professor or higher who has been on the WFHS faculty for at least five years and who has played a significant role in mentoring faculty in their trajectory in attaining a highly successful status as a researcher in the biomedical sciences.

The New Team Science Award is awarded to one recently formed team of researchers collaborating on a new project. The goal of this award is to reward early-stage, multidisciplinary teams forming to address innovative research questions.

The Established Team Science Award is awarded to one well-formed, established, active team of researchers working across disciplines on a project that has made highly significant research contributions with notable scientific or clinical impact.

The Special Achievement Award is the highest level of award to be given. There will not be a separate solicitation for this award, and the honoree must be approved in advance by the Dean. The awardee will be an individual who has contributed to WFSM in multiple ways with research as the primary base.